Tomorrow can’t wait.

At UVA Health System, we are taking a critical look at what has come before to discover, research, teach, and care for patients in an entirely new way. You can help.

These are our stories

At UVA we are transforming medicine, educating the physicians and researchers of tomorrow who will advance knowledge and help people live healthier lives.

Learn how you can help

Recipient of The Sharon L. Hostler Women in Medicine Leadership Award 2017 is Cynthia Yoshida, MD! View pics and…

We are pleased to announce the launch of the new Check it out for the latest news, plus information about our upcoming events and programs for students, alumni, housestaff, and faculty of the UVA School of Medicine. Link in bio. #uvamed

The Master Clinician Award recognizes up to two UVA physicians with the reputation of being the “doctors’ doctor;” the physicians to whom their colleagues turn to assist in managing complicated patients, care for family members, or serve as their personal physician. All School of Medicine faculty and UVA Health System clinicians were provided an opportunity to submit the names of up to two eligible UVA physicians. The two clinicians whose names were submitted most frequently on the electronic ballot by their colleagues received the award. Winners of the award for 2017 are the following: - Christopher A. Campbell, MD, Associate Professor of Plastic Surgery - David R. Diduch, MD, Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery Congratulations, Dr. Campbell and Dr. Diduch!

Jason A. Papin, PhD, Professor of Biomedical Engineering “One quality that Jason has that makes him an effective advisor is his ability to tailor his mentorship style to his students’ needs and his willingness to adapt to changing needs over time.” – Student “He is not the type of boss who only cares about data and results; he also cares about the growth of the individual beyond his or her research. In a recent meeting, I was lamenting the state of my data and Jason, confident that things would eventually come together, reminded me that I have learned so much in the process. He clearly prioritizes the whole individual and not just the accumulation of work.” – Student “Many professors are good teachers, but Jason is more than a teacher, he’s an outstanding mentor. Jason has a strong commitment to empowering students and promoting their success. He is one of the most influential mentors of my graduate career, and I know I am not the only one who feels that way.” – Student “Jason has cultivated in me the ability to truly be an independent thinker and scientist, and I believe this to be true for all his graduate students in the past, in the present, and undoubtedly in the future.” – Student

Vivian Pinn, MD '67, returned to Grounds yesterday as part of the University's first Women's Global Leadership Forum. Dr. Pinn spoke on a panel titled "Health and Education Challenges for Women and Girls." She is the former director of the National Institutes of Health's Office of Research on Women’s Health. #uvamed ... #Repost @uva_events (@get_repost) ・・・ Tune in to the Women's Global Leadership Forum today: #uva200 #wglf • • • Photo Credit: Tom Daly (@tomdalyphoto)

UVA School of Medicine. Autumn 2013.

UVA School of Medicine Dean’s Award for Clinical Excellence honors faculty who have demonstrated exemplary service to patients and a high level of clinical skill. Winners of the award for 2017 include the following: - Emaad M. Abdel-Rahman, MD, PhD, Professor of Medicine - Jamie L. W. Kennedy, MD, Assistant Professor of Medicine - Arun Krishnaraj, MD, Associate Professor of Radiology & Medical Imaging - Shayna L. Showalter, MD, Assistant Professor of Surgery - Mohamed Tiouririne, MD, Associate Professor of Anesthesiology Congratulations, all!

Dean David Wilkes, MD, and Senior Associate Dean Susan Pollart, MD, MS, hosted a celebration Thursday night of School of Medicine faculty who have been elected recently to an endowed chair or have received a School of Medicine, Medical Center, or other prestigious University award. Over the next week, we will post daily features of Faculty Award recipients. The winners are also featured on banners hanging outside the Health Sciences Library. Please stop by to have a look!

Dr. Pinn recalls visiting her grandfather on our segregated hospital ward in the 1950s

Each year since 1978, the Bowman Award has been presented to a fourth-year medical student at UVA who demonstrates the spirit and ideals with which Dick Bowman, MD '74, impressed his fellow students, physicians, family and friends during his relatively short lifetime. Dr. Bowman died tragically in May 1977 as the result of a sailing accident in upstate New York. ... The 40th Annual Bowman Dinner was celebrated in the Dome Room of the Rotunda on October 28. Among the attendees were 12 past Bowman Award recipients. The five Bowman Scholars selected for 2017 were honored at the event: Kristina Amelia Burger, Esteban Cubillos-Torres, Emmarie Genevieve Henriette Myers, David Matthew Noble and Walker DeHart Redd, who was chosen as the 2017 Bowman Award recipient. Congratulations to all of this year's honorees! #uvamed